California Business Portal

What are California state payroll taxes?

California has four State payroll taxes which are administered by the Employment Development Department (EDD). They are Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Employment Training Tax (ETT), which are employer contributions, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) and Personal Income Tax (PIT), which are withheld from employees’ wages.

Wages are generally subject to all four payroll taxes. However, some types of employment are not subject to payroll taxes and/or PIT withholding. For more information, please refer to the Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE).

Did you find this article helpful?

Haven't found what you're looking for, send us an email